Updated May 28, 2019 11:42:18Drivers who commit a DUI in Alabama will be issued with a DUI identification card instead of a driving license.
The new policy, announced Tuesday by Alabama Secretary of State John Merrill, will also give drivers who are cited for a DWII an opportunity to challenge the citation and win their case in court.
The card will also allow drivers who have been convicted of DWI to obtain a court hearing in order to regain their driver’s licenses.
“We recognize that the use of a citation to suspend or revoke a driver’s driver’s rights is not the preferred option,” Merrill said in a statement.
“We have decided to adopt a driver identification card program that allows drivers who’ve been charged with a DWIs violation to obtain legal counsel in order obtain their driver license.
This new policy is in line with the intent of our Department to be a fair and reasonable administration of our state’s laws.”
Merrill said that drivers will also have the option to obtain an ignition interlock device if they have a valid license.
Drivers will also be able to obtain and have their driver ID cards mailed to them.
The policy, which was originally announced by Merrill and signed by Attorney General Steve Marshall, will take effect on July 1.
It will also apply to those convicted of a DUI prior to July 1, 2019.
It does not apply to DUI convictions that occur after July 1 and that are not for a violation that occurred on or after July 6, 2019, Merrill said.
Drivers will be able appeal their citations if they believe the citation was unfairly issued, and the court hearing will take place within 90 days of the citation being issued.
A judge will hear the case and decide whether to issue a temporary suspension of the driver’s privileges.
The court will then issue an injunction to prevent the suspension from being imposed.
Merriller said in his statement that the Alabama Department of Transportation will review all citations to determine whether there is a violation of state or federal law and whether it could result in a driver being disqualified from driving.
If so, the driver would have 30 days to appeal the decision.
If the driver does not appeal the ruling, the suspension will be lifted.